Opened in 1825, the L’Orignal Jail was the oldest prison in service in Ontario’s justice system until its closure in 1998. Now a museum and interpretive center, the L’Orignal Old Jail opens for the summer season on June 1st until Labour Day, 7 days a week from 10 am to 4 pm. Off-season visits are by appointment and / or availability. Our guides offer bilingual tours and provide tourist information on the area and activities. The tours offer the opportunity to see and experience the narrow vaulted cells whose walls stood witness to prisoners’ sorrows and secrets during the 175 years of operation. As well, learn about the five hangings that occurred in L’Orignal Old Jail.
Please login to view all listing details!